That Time Is Once Again Tapping: Nevermore, Nevermore, Nevermore!

 

Part of the reason I haven’t blogged during the last month was because I was “movied out”.  Thankfully, my movie obsession survived any long term depreciation.  It just happens when you overdose.  Hell, I could consume five gallon-size tubs of chocolate mint ice cream and become less enamored with that too.  But as a new year dawns, so ends my laborious review of countless horror film submissions for the 2014 Nevermore Film Festival, which officially opens this week!
Now that I’ve assessed dozens of short and feature-length submissions, I can clearly attest this is the BEST SELECTION that I’ve reviewed during my three-year tenure as a Nevermore judge.  Perhaps this year’s greatest asset has been the sheer variety of submissions, which, of course, contain your standard gore-fests which will arouse the deranged and sadistic viewers.  But there is also a wide range of stirring films which should tickle our emotional and intellectual sides and pray on our imaginations.  Films like Grand Piano (starring Elijah Wood and John Cusack) The Human Race, The Returned are mere examples of Nevermore’s ability to appease broader audiences.

That’s not to suggest that I don’t appreciate a good decapitation and blood squib.  In this case, we found some real beauties; some of are also contained within those films I just mentioned.  But it’s very prominently in wonderful works like the very funny, The Shower, Mr. Bear, M is for Mine and the cartoonishly gratifying zombie war in Israel, aptly titled, Battle of the Undead.  

Of course, I’m mention only a handful of films that met with my approval.  The sheer number of shorts that entertained the Nevermore committee was so daunting that we had to make hard choices to accommodate our limited screening times.  There were friendly debates among ourselves as to what got in.  Then there were others that were greeted with unanimous praise and acceptance.  I’ll leave to you to decide which film was the best (don’t forget to vote for the coveted Audience Awards).

Now that I’ve had a month to cleanse my soul of all things cruel, disheartening, demented and down-right disgusting, I’m ready to relive it all again — with an audience and, possibly, seated next to the very talented men and women who labored so hard to get their work on the big screen.

Nevermore is also known for bringing back some classic horror films like Rosemary’s Baby and last year’s hugely successful and rare screening of the original Dawn of the Dead.  This year, Film Director and our fearless leader, Jim Carl, labored hard to procure a rare 35mm print of William Castle’s The Tingler (1959) starring Vincent Price.

This is a little different.  Castle’s movies always contained a gimmick; something that included the audience to participate.  Two Castle movies were shown during a previous RetroFantasma.  3D-like glasses were handed out to audiences that allowed the brave ones see the 13 Ghosts.  The second film paused during the third act in order to give 60 seconds for terrified audience members to vacate the theater rather than see the horrifying conclusion to Homicidal.  They got a full refund, but had to take the walk to the “coward’s corner”.  Jim had a replica of that, too.

The Tingler will be even more special because there will be many props and gimmicks — even a costume or two!  This is all thanks to the support of Bruce Goldstein, founder of Rialto Pictures, who will provide many original props and has even graciously offered to introduce the feature. This is the part I look forward to most.  I even hope to participate in some of the gimmicks if Mr. Goldstein finds me “spongeworthy”.

Regardless of his decisions, I will be like a sponge: soaking in the screams, the laughter, and the sheer joy of another great cinematic fore at the Carolina Theatre.  Please click on this link for more information.

Hope to see you all there!

Chris

Leave a comment